Grateful Sunday

**Photo Credit: thehappinesscoach.biz

Quite often, I’m so busy going, trying to accomplish the next assignment, goal, or dream that I fail to stop and take stock of my environment, internally and externally. I have so much to be grateful for!

This Thanksgiving, my mom provided a way for me to join her at my grandmother’s house, so I didn’t have to spend my favorite holiday alone. I was surrounded by family and ate some incredibly delicious food. Thank you!

I’m realizing that every moment, every day is worth showing appreciation. I shouldn’t wait until Thanksgiving each year to practice gratitude. There is someone or rather there are many someones out there praying for the very things I so often take for granted.

Lately I’ve been chasing happiness, but I think  happiness has been here all along if only I would be more present and acknowledge all the blessings I have to be grateful for. I’m happy I came across this TED Talk by Brother David Steindl-Rast , a Benedictine monk, called, “Want to be Happy? Be Grateful.”

Brother David says it’s gratefulness that makes you happy. When you practice grateful living, you acknowledge that every moment is a gift and opportunity is a gift within a gift. The key to grateful living is to, “Stop, look, and go.” It’s important to stop, take stock, and remember there is so much to be grateful for, whether it’s for clean air that fills your lungs, a capable and healthy body, loved ones who pray for your success and happiness, or a roof over your head and clothes on your back. Those are some of the things I’ve been taking for granted lately.

Brother David’s message is just the wake-up call I need this Sunday and every day, so I remember that,

If you’re grateful, you’re not fearful. If you’re not fearful, you’re not violent. If you’re grateful, you act out of a sense of enough and not out of a sense of scarcity. You’re willing to share. If you’re grateful, you’re enjoying the differences between people and you’re respectful to everybody. A grateful world is a happy world and that changes this power pyramid under which we live. It doesn’t make for equality, but equal respect and that’s the important thing.

Thank you, Brother David Steindl-Rast for that reminder. I’m grateful.

What are you grateful for this Sunday afternoon?

One thought on “Grateful Sunday

  1. Pingback: Ted Talk Thursday ~ Finding the Gratefulness in the Everyday | In Da Campo

Leave a Reply

